Riot developer explains how Valorant's rating system works

Riot developer explains how Valorant's rating system works
image via Riot Games

Valorant uses the popular MMR system to rank its players.

While the developers behind Riot Games' competitive shooter Valorant have gone the extra mile to keep their ranking system transparent, one part still remains shrouded in mystery.

However, it looks like gamers might have a few more answers now, as a Riot developer revealed how the MMR system actually works in Valorant.

A recent Reddit post on the Valorant subreddit saw user "hardstuckbabe" complaining about "booster" players in the Gold group. The Reddit user claimed that many "Bronze level" players had risen to Gold ranks due to recent Riot matchmaking changes.

In this post, Riot developer "EvrMoar" explained what actually happened and also explained how the MMR system actually works. He started by using a made-up example that explained where players with a certain MMR would be located.


The lead contest designer behind Valorant stated, “You're Iron 2 if you're between 400 and 500 MMR. It turned out that Iron 2 had too many players. We overestimated how many players would complete this 400-500 MMR. Now, to fix the problem, let's say, "You are on iron 2 when you have between 400-420 MMR and 3421-480 MMR and so on." The 450 MMR player would switch from iron 2 to iron 3 without changing their skills / MMR. Since MMR is a reflection of the skills of the players, that number hasn't changed. "

From his explanation, it is evident that Valorant uses an MMR system that is similar to many other modern competitive titles. It's also clear that the MMR thresholds for ranking up on Valorant were lowered a bit by developers recently due to more and more players infest towards certain ranks.

The ranks in Valorant are:

  • Iron
  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Diamond
  • Immortal
  • Radiant


Post a Comment

If you have any doubts then please let me know

Previous Post Next Post